23 Feb 2020

2nd International Traditional Sports Awards Were Presented

The 2nd “Traditional Sports” award ceremony has been held to honor persons and organizations that support the promotion, development and sustainment of traditional sports, and to proclaim their work to all nations of the world. The first of which has been held in Almaty, Kazakhstan. Awards has been presented in following six categories: Academician, Veteran Athlete, Young Athlete, Statesman, International Sponsorship and Traditional Sports Organization.

The awards were presented in the company of WEC President Necmeddin Bilal Erdoğan, by attending sports ministers and WEC Vice-President Hakan Kazancı. In the academician category, the award went to Kyrgyrzstan Manas University lecturer Prof. Dr. Mehmet Türkmen who received his award from WEC President Necmeddin Bilal Erdoğan. In his thanks speech Türkmen summarized his studies and thanked the World Ethnosports Confederation for their encouragements in this field. The Veteran Athlete award winner Kassai Lovasijaszat received his award from Ivory Coast Youth and Sports Minister Paulin Claude Danho; while the Young Athlete award went to Chevgan player Shamil Islamov from Azerbaijan, who received his award from Pakistan Federal States Coordination Minister Fehmida Mirza. The fourth and last individual category “Statesman” award went to Gymnastics and Sports Minister Innokentiy Grigoriev from Yakutsk, Russia, who received his award from WEC Vice-President and President of Traditional Sports Federation Hakan Kazancı. The award from institutional category “Traditional Sports Organization” went to Mounted Archery Federation of Japan. The award was received on behalf of the federation by its 82 years old president Sakamoto Kazuhiro. He received the award from Gambia Youth and Sports Minister Hadrammeh Sidibeh. The sixth and the last category “International Sponsorship” award went to Turkish Cooperation and Coordination Agency (TİKA). Mali Youth and Sports Minister Arouna Modibo Toure has presented the award to Upur Tanyeli who has been in attendance on behalf of TİKA.